On 30 May, the Council adopted Decision 2017/917 that extends the EU’s sanctions against Syria until 1 June 2018, amending Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP. The sanctions impose travel bans and asset freezes against individuals supporting or associated with the Syrian regime or oppression in the country. A total of three ministers of the Syrian government have been added to the sanctions list, and the Council has also updated the information related to certain persons and entities on the list.

Currently, the sanctions targeting Syria include an oil embargo, restrictions on certain investments, a freeze of the assets of the Syrian central bank within the EU and export restrictions on equipment and technology that could be used for internal repression, in addition to equipment and technology for monitoring or interception of internet or telephone communications. Council Implementing Regulation 2017/907 implements Council Regulation 36/2012.