On 22 January 2018, the EU froze the assets of seven Venezuelan officials, notably including the Minister for Interior, the head of the Intelligence Service, the head of the National Electoral Council and the President of the Supreme Court of Justice. These individuals are considered by the EU to be “involved in the non-respect of democratic principles or the rule of law and the violation of human rights” (See Council Decision (CFSP) No 2018/90 and Council Implementation Regulation No 2018/88).