On 21 December 2017, the Council of the European Union prolonged sanctions targeting sectors of the Russian economy until 31 July 2018 (See Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/2426). The restrictive measures include limited access to EU primary and secondary capital markets for certain Russian banks and companies, an export and import ban on trade in arms, an export ban on dual-use items for military use or military end-users in Russia, and restricted access to certain sensitive technologies and services that can be used for oil production and exploration. These measures are based on Council Decision 2014/512/CFSP of 31 July 2014 concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine and were taken following the condemnation by the EU’s Head of States of the violation of Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity by the Russian Federation in March 2014.