The EU Council has imposed sanctions on 18 Syrian ministers, as well as the Governor of the Central Bank of Syria, for being “responsible for the violent repression against the civilian population” in Syria or benefitting from or supporting the Syrian regime. These new listings bring the total number of people and entities subject to an asset freeze and travel ban under the EU’s sanctions on Syria to 304. Current EU sanctions against Syria also include an oil embargo, arms embargo and restrictions on certain investments. The sanctions are set to run until 1 June 2017. The new listings are available in Implementing Regulation 2016/1984 implementing Regulation 36/2012 and Implementing Decision 2016/1985 implementing Decision 2013/255/CFSP.